I love walking.  I could walk for hours.  I had been going for 3-mile daily walks last spring and then I had a week where I was feeling horrible and napped instead of walked and I never made it back to walking daily.  😦

Today, I decided to restart my walking routine.  But this time with a goal — running a 5K in June.  Whoa!

Because of my inactivity and ankle stress fracture, I’m starting by just throwing my 3-mile walk back into my daily routine.  After a month or two, my plan is to follow the “Couch Potato to 5k” program.  According to that program, I should be running 5k in 2 months.  Awesome. 

I have been missing the euphoria that I would used to get from running or other heavy workouts.  I haven’t been able to make that kind of exercise a part of my day since Liv was born and I think that it is taking more than just a physical toll on my body.  I am not able to handle my life stresses as well mentally or psychologically either.  😦  Boo.

I’m ready to try and change that.  Brian has agreed to start training for the 5k in a couple of months, too, so that we could run it together in June.  That gives us both a goal and some motivation!  (I always needed to have a “fire lit under my butt” to workout effectively. 😉 )

Is it too much to think that if the 5k goes well, there could be a 10K in my future in the next year?  How about a half-marathon in the next 2?  OK, now I may be getting a little ahead of myself, but I am excited.  🙂

(We are also thinking of working running into Christian’s daily routine (especially after the ice/snow) is off the road.  We can teach him some rules of road safety and allow him to burn off some of the excess energy that he has built up in that little body of his!  😉 Maybe run the 1k in June???)

