I was struck by these words as I listened to the book of John the other day…

As [Jesus] went along, he saw a man blind from birth.  His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” 

“Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the work of God might be displayed in his life…”  –John 9:1-3

I don’t have physical blindness in my life, but our small family has struggled/is still struggling through our own “medical issues.”  And it’s hard some days not to just turn to God and ask, “Really, what did I/we do to deserve this now?!?” 

Honestly, I can say that every single time we have been faced with a new issue, God has taught me a lesson.  Many lessons.  Lessons in humility.  Lessons in patience.  Lessons in peace.  Lessons in trust.  Lessons in His grace.  Lessons in His love.  Lessons in His control.  Lessons that I may not have been willing to learn or unable to understand in another way.  God knows. 

Teach me, Lord, in whatever way you must.

