When I got up this morning, I was in a very negative mood ūüė¶ …

…I was frustrated with our insurance company, disappointed that I had immediate laundry to do, overwhelmed by the amount of work that needed to be done in the kitchen, not sure where to start with a bathroom that was in dire need of being cleaned, overcome by the smell coming out of our sofa, upset that we had lost a movie from the library, mad at the stupid drivers on the highway … the list could go on … I felt like it was going to be one of those days when I just wollow in anger and darkness…

…then I started thinking (instead of just reacting).¬† I am blessed¬†even have health insurance.¬† I am blessed that we have beds to sleep in and sheets and blankets to cover our beds.¬† I am blessed to have dishes, pots, pans, food, and a¬†kitchen in which to cook meals for my family.¬† I am blessed to have indoor plumbing.¬† I am blessed to have running water.¬† I am blessed to have trash service.¬† I am blessed to have furniture to sit on.¬† I am blessed to have a more than¬†adequate home to live in.¬† I am blessed to have an excellent¬†library system nearby.¬† I am blessed to have a working vehicle to get around in.¬† I am blessed to have local stores.¬† To have local doctors.¬† To have local schools…

…I am just richly blessed.¬† Blessed with things that I do not deserve.¬† I am ashamed by the time and thought that I put in to all of these “things” that really aren’t all that important.

I am brought back to thinking about Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount — Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.¬† But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.¬† For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. –Matthew 6:19-21

I pray that I can change my perspective.  I pray that I can realize my blessings.  I pray that I can share these blessings with others.  I praise the Lord for all that I have been given.

