Once a week Christian’s class does some easy cooking at school.  Today they had grilled cheese sandwiches on the menu.  My thought was “Well, good luck with that!” as we have NEVER been successful getting him to eat ANY type of sandwich at home.  But you never know, so I dutifully packed up two slices of his special bread, a piece of his non-dairy cheese, and some non-dairy butter expecting these things to all come back home again.

Boy, was I wrong!

They used one of those inexpensive sandwich makers.  You know, the kind that makes the sandwich kind of like a “pudgy pie.”  I guess, he was SO excited that he could hardly wait while his sandwich cooked.  And then he DEVOURED it!

I think my jaw must have dropped wide open when I was told this most wonderful news.  Seriously?  My Christian?  Devoured a sandwich?  Yes, folks, it is absolutely true!  (Insert Mama doing cartwheels here!!!)

Which also sent me into a frenzy this afternoon trying to find a sandwich maker like the one they had used today.  I thought that maybe, just maybe, if I found one like the kind they used at school, he would eat them at home, too.  Another option!  Hurray for options!  I practically ran to Goodwill this afternoon (once the therapist arrived) to see if I could find the much prized sandwich maker, but no luck.  Not one anywhere to be seen.  Sigh.  I guess it wasn’t meant to be…

…until I got home.  I had rejoiced on Facebook that Christian had eaten a sandwich that had been made in a sandwich maker at school and that I would NEED to find one of those makers.  Well, while I was gone, a friend (who lives in town) had messaged me that she had one that I could have!  Seriously?  How awesome is that?!?  Thanks, KA!  🙂  I was so happy I was jumping up and down in my kitchen just overjoyed with excitement! 

All of this over one sandwich.  Who would have thought???

