Somehow last week managed to just slip away so quickly.  I honestly don’t know where it went.  And now, all of the sudden, it’s almost October.  I have a feeling that this week will fly just as fast.

Brian and I were able to get an afternoon away on Saturday.  It was lovely.  We went for a walk in the woods and actually held hands without little people pushing in-between us.  We enjoyed frozen custard without someone else asking for a bite (and another and another).  We stopped at the store and were able to actually take the time to read the labels on items without chasing down a small person who ran off.  It was peaceful.  Wonderful.  Much needed.

Life goes on, though, once you get home.  Brian headed out to do some bow hunting.  I hunkered down at home with the kids.  Christian ended up running down the driveway at top speed as I watched a truck rumble down the road (going at least 50mph).  His life flashed before my eyes, as I was too far away to actually do anything but shout at the top of my lungs.  Amazingly Christian stopped right on the edge of the driveway.  (I also stopped breathing.)  Christian didn’t bat an eyelash as the truck just drove by.  I let out a sigh of relief and was almost overcome with emotion.  Seriously.  I was so terrified.  My hands were shaking as I jogged down the driveway to walk him back to the yard where we had been looking for the missing “J” letter block.  Either the work that Brian has been doing with him about NOT walking in the road is starting to sink in or a guardian angel came down and stopped him from running in the road.  Maybe both.  For I was really scared this time that he and that truck were not going to stop.  Ah, yes, then we came back in the house where Olivia had decided that she needed to eat every piece of candy and/or chips in the house and if I didn’t cave in immediately she would throw a tantrum about it.  We listened to a LOT of tantrumming Saturday afternoon.  Sigh.  I was ready for another break by the time Brian got back from hunting.  But then it was getting close to bedtime, so that didn’t happen.  Perhaps that’s why I stay up so late and just veg…

Thankfully, Sunday contained a bit less drama. 😉

We are now into the last week of before 3 pm therapy sessions.  I will enjoy it while it lasts.  But I do think that the time between school and therapy will be a good break for Christian.  (It will also afford me the ability to not have to scoot across town so quickly.)

Christian has his first field trip of the year on Wednesday.  They are going to McDonalds for lunch and then to the woods which is just down the road from our house.  Christian should LOVE this trip.  He LOVES McDonalds.  Mmm…burger patties. 🙂  And he LOVES the woods.  I gave his teacher warning, though, that he loves to run through the woods.  We try to get there on the weekends and we definitely get our workout with Christian along.  🙂

As for me, I’m enjoying the fall weather. 🙂  I am looking forward to the leaves changing colors on all of the trees around here.  I’m just trying to keep the housework under control, but for some reason it always seems to get the best of me. 

I am also tinkering with the idea of writing a book, but not real sure what to write about.  A novel?  Autobiographical book?  Semi-autobiography?  I’m not sure exactly how to start.  Would people want to read about my life?  Our family life with autism?  Christian’s life?  Something totally cooked-up in my head?  I’m pondering…feel free to tell me what you think. 🙂

