This post is a bit overdue, but I’m going to blame my tardiness on lack of sleep and the continuing recovery process of the sinus infection.  (That and Latte Land, but LL probably deserves a whole ‘nother post.)

Major Firsts…

  • Both kids attended Sunday School for the first time!  Yay!  They are in the same classroom.  That’s fine.  Olivia was very clingy, though, because I was in there acting as Christian’s “assistant” and Olivia gets SUPER shy anytime we are away from home and she is asked to interact with other people.  Sigh.  I’m hoping as the weeks progress that she will become a bit more independent (like she TOTALLY is at home).  It was also VERY clearly reinforced to me why every Sunday we sit in our church’s “Child Training Room.”  Sunday School had an opening devotion in the church proper.  Christian was COMPLETELY overwhelmed.  (My guess is the number of people, the openness of the sanctuary, the colors, the brightness, the acoustics, etc.)  After we wrestled through the devotion and settled into the classroom, he was fine.  I am EXTREMELY thankful that next week we will start directly in the classrooms.  Whew!
  • The kindergarteners (2 other besides C) in Christian’s special ed classroom started attending a “regular ed” kindergarten classroom for 45 minutes every morning as of Monday.  I’m happy to report that Christian did GREAT!!   He even then went with the K-class to music for another 1/2 hour!  🙂  I’m so excited for him!  I guess that Monday is also library day at school and Christian went and checked out a book.  More excitement from me as we have NOT been successful at the public library.  (Perhaps too big, too bright, too many people, and just too much going on???)  But I’m really excited about how well school is going so far!  🙂 🙂 🙂
  • Also after school while Christian was receiving therapy, he came up to the kitchen looking for food and while I was making his beloved toast, he said, “I tired.”  THE FIRST TIME EVER IN HIS LIFE THAT HE HAS SAID THAT!!!  Cartwheels around! 🙂  (Well, mental ones, anyway.  Not sure that I could pull off actual cartwheels anymore!) 😉
  • For almost THREE months now, Christian has refused to go to the bathroom with anyone but me.  (Yes, this even includes Brian.)  Thankfully, he broke that habit at school (with the help of a social story), but I am still the only one who has been able to take him at home (or out in public).  Since the social story seemed to help the transition at school, Sunday afternoon I sat down and tweaked the one that we had for home.  (That stated, “When I go potty at home then I am a big boy and MOMMY is happy.”)  So I changed the story to include Daddy, Grandparents (on both sides), and EVERY single one of his therapists with everyone’s pictures.  Monday night, he allowed Brian to be in the bathroom with him while I helped.  That’s a BIG step.  I was happy.  But then yesterday afternoon, he let his therapist, AB, take his hand, walk into the bathroom, and HE WENT FOR HER!!!  His senior therapist, AZ, and I were listening intently in the kitchen and were silent cheering as we hear the stream start!  HURRAY!  I was (mentally) doing the running man and cabbage patch!  SO EXCITED!!!  Christian was heavy rewarded with a cupcake!  SO, SO HAPPY!!!  I pray that it will transfer on to other people now as well!  🙂

So, this isn’t a first, but a funny Olivia-ism story…

I had an underwire on a bra break recently, so I got a new one.  Yesterday morning after getting dressed and getting everything prepared to take Olivia for a walk in the woods, she walks over, peeks up my shirt, and says, “Mommy, where’d you get that boobie-holder?  I never see THAT before.”  Sigh.  Out of the mouths of babes.  😉

And sleep, well, it had been going terrifically, but we have had 3 nights in the last week where sleep has been interrupted by 3-5 hours during the night.  I’m not 100% sure what’s causing this, but I do think it may be linked to intestinal issues.  With the sudden increase in meat eating after taking a 2-month hiatus from it, I think has slowed down his digestive track.  Missing the #2s a couple of days, would probably make my tummy ache, too, so that’s my best guess.  Hoping for a good poo today, so that we can get a whole-night’s sleep tonight!  😉

