I have so many different topics running through my head that I’m going to try to get them out in one post…

This morning, against my better judgement, I took both kids grocery shopping.  Thankfully my list was fairly short and it was early in the morning (not many shoppers), so it took us only about 25-minutes to get everything we needed (and some popsicles that we didn’t).  Thankfully Christian rode well in the cart today.  (Unlike Monday when I took both of them to Target and he hopped out of the cart five times sending me sprinting through the store at top speeds and leaving Olivia back with the cart.  And then on our Monday trip to the library, Christian picked a fight with Olivia, knocking over a whole shelf full of DVDs and then running away as I was picking them up and screaming and dropping to the ground when I caught up with him…Hence, my hesitation to take both kids shopping this morning…)  So, we get to the cash register and the lady gives me this look because I hand her my reusable bags.  I know they’re not the most convenient things to work with, but come on, I bought them at that store!  Why do most of the cashiers there give me dirty looks when I hand those over?!?  Olivia was happily wearing out the batteries in all of the little electric toys by the check-outs.  As I was unloading the groceries, Christian hopped up on the conveyor and sat down.  And then screamed at the top of his voice, “Check it out!”  Awesome!  I was SO laughing on the inside as the cashier lady shot me another evil look, as I smiled, picked up Christian, and said, “I guess she isn’t going to check you out today.”  😉  What are you going to do?  I thought it was hilarious!  🙂

Our visit to Christian’s classroom on Monday afternoon went better than I expected.  The social story by Miss J must be paying off.  He seemed to remember the room and his teacher.  Brian (and Olivia) were able to come along to meet and see everybody/everything.  (As I usually attend school meetings on my own.)  We probably spent an hour there — letting Christian explore the classroom (and his teacher’s computer), touring the school (all of the different classrooms Christian will be in), and meeting all of the different teachers/assistants/library personnel/office workers/principal/etc. who will be working with Christian during the year.  It was a great visit.  Christian and I are going back tonight (for the school Open House) just to get in there one more time before school starts next Tuesday.  (And I was able to get pictures of the bathroom to make a social story about using the bathroom at school.  I hope that helps so that he doesn’t try to hold it in ALL day!!!)

I had Christian up, fed, toileted, and dressed by 7:45!  That is a big improvement.  We just need to shave another 1/2-hour off of that and we will be fine.  I’m glad we have until Tuesday to do that.  I think I’ve figured out that I need to be up and moving a 1/2-hour before I try to wake Christian, so that I’m ready to help him by the time he gets up.  (And I need to figure out a way to get Christian up without waking Olivia.  She is whiny and demanding upon waking, which TOTALLY annoys Christian.  (I don’t blame him.)  We’ve had lots of 45-minute tantrums this week because I will not let her eat popsicles, Starbursts, or suckers for breakfast.  (I know, I’m SO mean!  hee hee) 😉 )  A work in progress, but we are getting there…

Funny yesterday, Christian was working with therapist AB in the afternoon.  Christian was kind of all over the place, having a hard time focusing (on what she wanted him to work on), so she asked him what he wanted to do.  His reply — “Let’s go to lunch!”  🙂  Awesome!  I love it!  She was telling me about it later and not sure if that was what he really said, when he repeated it.  Christian is just TOO funny!!!  🙂

On a heavier note, I have heard new numbers in the autism statistics.  Instead of 1 in 150, they are now saying 1 in 100.  Wow!  Scary!  We need to find out why there is such a rise in these numbers!  This isn’t just coincidence…  And then there is the swine flu vaccine.  And states starting to mandate that their populations HAVE to get it or face heavy fines and/or jail time.  I’m praying that doesn’t come to pass here.  Seriously, the government is rushing to get this vaccine out to the public, but it hasn’t been totally proven safe.  (Guillain-Barre Syndrome and the swine flu vaccine of 1976 anyone???)  I am not ready to risk my children’s safety on this vaccine when my son already does NOT handle the “regular” flu vaccine well.  This talk of forced vaccinations makes me very nervous.  Praying hard…

