I’ve tried to put this post together for a few days this week and either the kids or desperate need for sleep has prevented it.  Anywho…

I drove the the wind and blowing snow on Wednesday to hear a speaker talk about the effect that autism has on families.  I think from the way it was presented the topic was probably meant more for community awareness vs. parents of children on the spectrum, but it was still pretty interesting.  The speaker is from the Waisman Center located at the University of Wisconsin – Madison.  She is the director there and is leading long-term studies on the affect of autism on the autistic person, their parents, and their siblings.   She mostly presented information gathered on the effect on the mother for caring for a child with autism.  So there is now “scientific proof” that we mommies have more intense lives, are more stressed, and are more fatigued than the average population of moms.  I was thinking to myself – I could have told you that!  Tell me something I didn’t know.  But it’s good that others know that so that hopefully our communities, friends, and families can understand our lives just a little bit better.  And I guess, if nothing else, it validated our stress, fatigue, intensity.  It exists.

