So, yesterday morning Olivia had her visit at the Constipation Clinic at Children’s Hospital.  It was SO nice to talk to someone who was convinced that she could help us and that I wasn’t being an overly concerned parent!  Olivia is now on adult doses of stool softener and laxatives for the next couple of months until her body/mind realizes that poo doesn’t need to hurt.  After having mega-doses last night and this morning, she FINALLY pooed (after five days, again, of not going).  Yay!  I showered her with praise and stickers.  Hopefully the stickers will be the motivation that she needs to keep going!  (Along with that fact that she shouldn’t be able to hold it any longer because of the poo being so soft.)  Anyway, enough about her poo…

…and onto the other child pooer in the house…  The kids and I were out of the house from 7:30 yesterday morning until 4:45 last evening.  We were all tired.  No one had napped, although we all needed it (Christian has been up for several hours in the night again for the last few nights in the row).  Olivia had fallen asleep just before we got home yesterday and was able to stay asleep as I brought her up from the parking lot.  Christian had been looking pretty tired, too, and I had decided to take a 30 minute break before starting supper while sitting with Christian on the couch.  He eventually got up and went in his room, closing the door, and singing.  Sometimes when he is that tired, he will crawl into bed and sing himself to sleep.  Well, I got up and started working on putting some supper together.  As I was about to dump the noodles in the boiling water, he came running out of his room with no pants on and poo in his hand.  AAAHHHHHHH!!!  I tried to calmly figure out what to do next while my mind just was kind of spinning from being SO tired!  I turned off the stove, turned on the bath water, and gathered the cleaning supplies.  I put Christian in the tub, which I can see from his room while cleaning that up.  I figured it would give him something constructive to do so that he wasn’t getting in my way and I could still hear if Olivia had gotten up from her nap in our bedroom.  Anyway, I just about lost it when I walked into his room. The smell bowled me over!  It was everywhere!  All I can figure is that he took his pull-up off, pooed on the floor, pooed in seven other places in his room, piled he stuffed animals on top of the first pile of poo and then started jumping around the room, spreading the “poo-shine!”  I hate this!  I took me three loads of laundry to get it cleaned out of what I could.  I had to throw a couple of stuffed animals out because they were WAY BEYOND cleaning!  I took me another 45 minutes to just scrub the poo out of the carpet, bookshelves, and beanbag chairs!  All the while Christian continued to jump out of the tub to see what I was doing.  My patience was more than gone, but I tried to hold it together.  I think that if I was a smoker, I would have gone through a couple of packs last night!!!  Anyway, everything got cleaned.  (I guess, including Christian’s colon.)  Unfortunately I was up too late getting thing dry.  (Our dryer automatic shut-off no longer works and some of that would have been wrecked had I let it dry until morning!)  (Oh, and Olivia threw-up after supper all over our bathroom when Brian was gone running an errand.  At least this happened in a bathroom, SO much easier to clean up!)  Christian was up by 1am.  My patience was still gone and while wrestling with him over putting a new pull-up on (he was convinced that I wasn’t putting a Cars pull-up on him),  I said a something I wish I wouldn’t have.  I’m truly sorry I said it, but it still weighs heavy on me that those words came out of my mouth.  I pray for renewed patience today, because I’m not sure what kind of adventures are in store, but I hope that I will be able to handle them level-headedly and with more wisdom and patience than I ever knew I had!

