So four years ago I was in labor with Christian at this time. It started about 9:30 in the morning. I just hung out at home all day, mustering up the energy to shower around noon. Brian called about 4pm and said that he would be home after they disassembled the stage from Entertainment Night. (He didn’t know I was in labor at the time.) I think he could hear in my voice that something was going on, so when I told him I was in labor and the pains were about 8 minutes apart he jumped in the car and rushed home. We got things ready and just as we were about to leave, there was a pounding on our door. The painters (painting the ouside of our condo building) had broken off a water spout on the back of our condo and they wanted us to shut the water off. Brian was franticly trying to figure out how to turn it off because our main water switch didn’t turn it off. He was trying to figure out what to do while my contractions were now coming 5 minutes apart! It was crazy! The president of the condo association finally came over and told us that the water was reclaimed and not connected to our place, so there was nothing that we could do about it. We had to go, even though the water in our tiny back “yard” area was creeping up to our patio doors. As we were getting in the car a bunch of older women were outisde (because of all of the commotion with the water break) and wanted to talk our ears off about being in labor and how their children’s labors went, and grandchildren, and yadda, yadda. I was trying to remain calm, but I just wanted to go!!! After our hour trek to the hospital, I was seen after a 45 minute wait and admitted immediately because of coupling contractions. We labored through the night and they talked me into an epidual around 11pm because things were looking iffy. They continued to stop and start my labor all night, with Christian and I looking worse and worse. They decided at 5am, after a little bit of pushing, that they needed to take him because he still hadn’t dropped and they were getting concerned about Christian and my welfare. With the hour we were in the OR and not long after that Christian was born! I remember hearing this baby crying and after a minute I realized that he was my baby and a BOY! I was so excited, but not feeling well. I told the doctor and then I passed out. Next thing I know is that I was in recovery and Brian was with Christian. It took about three hours before I really got to see him. And boy, was he ever beautiful! The hospital was a nightmare and I couldn’t wait to go home (because the night staff took so long to respond to a call for help). I didn’t sleep the whole time we were there and the next month was a blur, but somehow we managed…

Wow! It’s so crazy that it has been four years already, but sometimes it seems like it has been so much longer. It should be a fun day for him tomorrow (I hope). He has school in the morning, but we are planning a special pancake lunch (with candles) and yummy pizza for supper (GFCF, of course). He hasn’t had pancakes for a number of months, so I’m hoping that he will still eat them and be excited about having them again. He has been asking about pizza for over a week, so I think that will fly with him! We are skipping the whole cake thing because he isn’t interested and it doesn’t pay to spend all that time and money on baking a special cake and then not have anyone want to eat it.

